LibGuides: Library Services for Students: Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources List

The following electronic library resources are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from on and off campus.

Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of eBooks covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishers and university presses. Over 10,000 titles are specifically related to health sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A full text article database covering journals from a wide variety of academic disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, and applied sciences.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of medical reference titles and textbooks. Includes case files, images, videos, practice guidelines, diagnostic tools, and more.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of pharmacy reference titles and textbooks. Includes case studies, care plans, self-assessment, and NAPLEX review.
Acland Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Atlas of human anatomy in real life 3-D.
BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
NAPLEX, APMLE Part 1, and APMLE Part 2 Board Exam prep materials.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). Additional materials include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care drug reference tool that provides information on drug interactions, product comparisons, adverse reactions, clinical comparisons, patient drug information, clinical calculators, and more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is a database of biomedical literature. It Includes all journals in MEDLINE plus 2,900 more, and covers 11,500+ conferences not found in MEDLINE.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Isabel PRO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based diagnosis and decision support system that provides search results from various web resources, including PubMed.
JoVE This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed scientific video journal focused on demonstrating experimental techniques. The Boxer Library subscribes to following sections:
LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Boxer Library's new next-generation discovery service. One search box is all you need to search multiple databases at one time. Search for articles and other information by keyword or by title.
Mendeley This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A tool that assists in managing references and PDFs. Please see the Mendeley Overview page for details on how to create a Mendeley Account.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to evidence-based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine to aid in clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. The Boxer Library's subscription includes access to the Reproductive Effects add on module.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Online diet and professional practice manual. *Maximum 10 Concurrent Users
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not indexed by Embase.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides advanced features for searching the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database, which contains over 22 million biomedical citations.
Ovid Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
Like LibrarySearch, this resource allows you to search nursing information indexed in journals subscribed to in Ovid as well as the Medline database.
Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Online diet and professional practice manual. *Maximum 1 Concurrent User
Pharmacist's Letter This link opens in a new window
A monthly periodical that provides evidence-based information about patient care, as well as recommendations and clinical resources.
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to textbooks from the American Pharmacists Association, an interactive NAPLEX review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
RFUMS Student Dissertations & Theses.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A database of full text, peer-reviewed scientific articles in psychology.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
A collection of psychiatric reference books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science & mental health.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
A collection of videos on various aspects of psychotherapy.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database that includes over 30 million biomedical citations from MEDLINE. While it does not provide full text access for every citation in the database, PubMed will link you to all full text articles that are currently available through the Boxer Library electronic collection.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online reference management program that allows you to save, organize, and references, as well as generate reference lists/bibliographies. Additional features allow you to cite references saved to RefWorks within Microsoft Word or Google documents.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing, and more.
Springer Medicine eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2000 medical eBooks published by Springer between 2005 and 2010.
Stahl Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr. Steven M. Stahl, including Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
*Maximum 5 Concurrent Users. Access the following eBooks: AAFP Conditions A to Z ; How to Write, Publish, and Present in the Health Sciences ; How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine
Stereoscopic Chiropody This link opens in a new window
Digitized records from the Stereoscopic Studies of Chiropody by D.J. Cunningham and Rueben H. Gross. Eighty scanned cards explain the anatomy and the etiology and diseases of the lower extremities.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based point-of-care clinical decision support tool.
Views from RFU This link opens in a new window
Images detailing the history of buildings belonging to schools that have become part of Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, starting from 1912 to the present day.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
An online catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Access to WorldCat is provided on the OCLC FirstSearch platform.

Miscellaneous Electronic Resources
Additional miscellaneous electronic resources are available for use by the faculty, staff, and students at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science. These resources are freely available online or provided for free to the Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science community by CARLI, the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois.

E-Book Collections

The following electronic resources contain collections of eBooks that RFMUS students, faculty, and staff can access online at anytime.

Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of eBooks covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishers and university presses. Over 10,000 titles are specifically related to health sciences.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online resource which provides access to over 65 eBooks that encompass different areas and specialties of medicine.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 30 eBooks.
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to textbooks from the American Pharmacists Association, an interactive NAPLEX review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
A collection of psychiatric reference books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).
Springer Medicine eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2000 medical eBooks published by Springer between 2005 and 2010.

Apps & Mobile Device Access to Electronic Resources

The following website contains links to and reviews of a wide variety of free or ad supported healthcare apps.

iMedicalApps
Health care app reviews by medical professionals.

The following electronic resources are accessible though mobile apps or through websites that are designed for mobile devices:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A full text article database covering journals from a wide variety of academic disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, and applied sciences.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of medical reference titles and textbooks. Includes case files, images, videos, practice guidelines, diagnostic tools, and more.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of pharmacy reference titles and textbooks. Includes case studies, care plans, self-assessment, and NAPLEX review.

Clinical Pharmacology App
Provides fast, easy and convenient access to the content and features of the Clinical Pharmacology electronic drug reference. A Clinical Pharmacology personal account is required to access the app. Follow the provided link to create your personal account. The app is available for download in the Apple App Store and Google Play.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). Additional materials include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.

Family Practice Notebook App
A free rapid access, point-of-care medical reference for primary care and emergency clinicians. Content is updated monthly with systematic literature reviews and conferences.

Isabel PRO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based diagnosis and decision support system that provides search results from various web resources, including PubMed.

Medline Plus Mobile
Authoritative health information written at a patient level (consumer health). Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. Foreign language and low-literacy handouts available for many topics. Mobile access is available for free through your mobile device's internet browser.

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to evidence-based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine to aid in clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. The Boxer Library's subscription includes access to the Reproductive Effects add on module.

mobilePDR
A free drug information app and search tool with access to thousands of drug summaries from the publisher of Physicians' Desk Reference. Free registration is required for access to the app.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A database of full text, peer-reviewed scientific articles in psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science & mental health.

PubMed Mobile
A database that includes over 22 million biomedical citations from MEDLINE. Please note, PubMed Mobile does not provide access to RFUMS's full text content. For access to full text articles, please use the non-mobile version of PubMed. Mobile access is available for free through your mobile device's internet browser.
Read by QxMD
A free app that helps keep you up-to-date on medical literature by providing a platform to browse medical research. The app allows you to customize the literature displayed in the app by medical specialty and journal title.
SciFinder Mobile
With SciFinder Mobile you can quickly find references to published research for a topic of interest, information on a substance of interest, including nomenclature, molecular formula and properties, and references to published research from a scientist or company of interest.

Note: You must first create a SciFinder username and password in order to access the mobile website. Instruction on creating a username and password can be found here.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based point-of-care clinical decision support tool.