Distance Student Guide to Library Resources and Services

LibrarySearch offers a seamless way to search through a variety of our online resources at one time. One search box is all you need to find journal articles, information from databases, and chapters from eBooks. Access to online resources is available 24/7 both on campus and off.

Sources included in LibrarySearch: ​

ScienceDirect, ​PsycArticles, CINAHL Complete, ​Ovid Journals, ​Nature​, Cochrane Library, PubMed, Academic Search Complete, ​AccessMedicine,​ Psychiatry Online,​ and more...

The quick video below explains the process for finding full text for specific articles using LibrarySearch.

Checking for full text the Boxer Library's electronic collection is done in a few easy steps:

1. Go to the Boxer Library homepage: www.rosalindfranklin.edu/library
2. Enter your article title in the LibrarySearch box. 
3. Click on the drop down menu next to the search box, select title, and click search. 
4. Click on PDF or Find at RFUMS link, or Request this item through Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

To learn more about Interlibrary loan, view the Interlibrary Loan & Print2PDF guide. 

To find articles from a specific journal, you need to use the Journals & eBooks tab on the Boxer Library homepage which connect to the A-to-Z List, which is an online listing of all of the library's journals (print and online) and eBooks. If you have to locate a single article, you need to first locate the journal the article appears in and then use the volume, issue, and page number information to locate the article within the journal. You can also search for the article by title using the LibrarySearch tab on the library homepage. 

To view a demonstration of this process, watch the video below. 

Follow these steps to check if we have a subscription to a journal or eBook online:

1. Go to www.rosalindfranklin.edu/Library
2. Click on the Journals & eBooks Tab at the top of the page. 
3. Type in the journal or eBook title in the search box, and click search.
4. If prompted, type in your HelixNet username and password. If you have issues with your password, contact the IT Helpdesk at (847) 578-8800. 
5. If the title is available, check the coverage to see if we have access to the year you need.
6. If the coverage is correct, click on the database link.
7. For journals, click on the volume, issue, and page numbers of the article. For eBooks click on the chapter title.
8. Locate full text or PDF link, and save and/or print.

If you have any questions feel free to send the librarians an email at eresources@rosalindfranklin.edu.

The Alexandria Online Catalog is a searchable electronic listing of the print materials located in the Boxer Library. By using Alexandria, patrons have the ability to search and find materials housed in the print collection.

To check if the materials you are looking for are available, go to the Boxer Library Homepage and select the "Books & Reserves" tab of the search box. Type in the title or item and click search.

This will open a new window with all items matching the search. 

Click the triangle on the right to produce the record and click Copies  to see if the book is available for checkout.