Boxer Library
On different occasions, the library will dedicate a portion of the newsletter to highlight a new resource or service beneficial to those in our university community. The resource we are featuring today is called Scopus, which is a database of citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. In addition to integrating with Interfolio and ORCID for faculty activity reporting, Scopus is a robust resource that students, faculty, and staff can use to support literature reviews in research projects, dissertations, or scoping/systematic reviews. This newsletter will highlight what Scopus is, how to search it, how to set up alerts, how to export results, and the features of author profiles. Readers will also learn when drop-in workshops will be scheduled for faculty and students to learn more about this new tool. Also, be sure to check out the upcoming library activities during Wellness Weeks, as well as new items to check out at the Circulation Desk to kick off 2025
Scopus is a database that covers 330 disciplines with over 2.4 billion cited references. Scopus has many helpful features such as
Due to its extensive coverage and unique citation tools, Scopus is a great database to add to your research toolkit.
Scopus offers several search options to meet your specific needs.
Document Search: Scopus' default search is its Document search. A Document search will return articles, conference proceedings, preprints, patents, and more. If you search within Documents, Scopus will automatically search your keywords in a record's title, abstract, and keywords. You can change this in the dropdown menu next to the search box.
Advanced Search: For strategic searching with field codes, use the Advanced Search feature located below the Document Search. Scopus provides a list of common field codes and Boolean operators to guide you.
Author Search: To find works by a particular author, navigate to the Author tab and search by name or ORCID ID.
Scopus has robust citation metrics features. You can find citation information for individual articles, sets of results, authors, and institutions. Note that all citation tools are limited to what is indexed in the tool. For example, any citation number in Scopus is only based on the citation activities of sources indexed in Scopus.
Individual Articles: In the results list, you will be able to see how many times an individual record has been cited.
If you click on the number, you will be taken to the list of records that cite that article.
If you click into an article record, you will be able to see a snapshot of citation information and you can also select to view all metrics.
Journals: You can look at citation metrics at the Journal level by clicking on Sources in the upper right corner of the Scopus search page.
You can search for journals you are interested in and see their CiteScore, Total number of citations in the past three years, percent of documents cited, and more!
Scopus allows you to analyze your search results by various criteria, including year, source, author, affiliation, document type, and subject area. This functionality provides valuable insights into trends within your research topic.
From there you will be able to view a full analysis of your search criteria
Alerts can be set up for searches that you wish to receive new results for as they are published. After logging into your Scopus account and performing your search, click on the Set search alert button to the left of the search bar.
Confirm the name of the search, select the desired frequency of emails, and click Set search alert.
To see and/or edit previously saved alerts, click on the bell icon towards the top right side of the page.
Results can be exported to citation managers or file format of your choice. To export results, select the desired results and click on Export.
In the window that appears, you can select either the preferred format, if known, or the reference manager you are using for your citations.
From there, select the citation information that you would like exported, and select Export.
Author Profiles
Scopus generates author profiles that include your affiliation, citation metrics, publications, and more. In your author profile, you will see a graphic representing your publication output by year and the number of citations. There are even Beta versions of your Impact, as well as the grants you have been awarded.
You can connect your ORCID ID to your author profile, which will allow viewers to interact with your ORCID profile.
Do note that you can make changes to your author profile. Scopus may have outdated information.
Student Session: Keeping Up with Research Impact Using Scopus
Wednesday, January 22nd at 12PM - 1PM | Virtual
Registration for Zoom Session
Are you looking to stay updated on a specific research topic and its scholarly impact? Scopus is an abstract and citation database that can help you track publishing trends, measure research influence, and discover key articles in your field. In this concise 30-minute session, learn how to efficiently use Scopus to stay current with your research and maximize your academic insights.
Faculty Session: Keeping Up with Research Impact Using Scopus
Thursday, January 23rd from 4PM - 5PM | Virtual
This session will help you discover how Scopus can fit into your research toolkit and help you visualize your scholarly impact. We will explore Scopus’ advanced searching, citation metrics, and author profiles.
Student Wellness Weeks
Take a Wellness Break and “Wish Upon a Star” at the Library
January 21st - February 6th
During Student Wellness Weeks, from January 21st to February 6th, students can come to the library to partake in a creative and reflective activity designed to inspire hope and set intentions. Write down a wish, hope, or goal on a strip of colored paper, and transform it into an origami star. Once you've crafted your star, place it in our "star catcher" jar, which will be displayed by an entrance of the library. Let's create a constellation of collective hopes and support each other on this journey!
Boxer Library now has two fast-charge charging cubes for students who have wires but only need a charging block. These are available at the circulation desk for 2-hour checkout. The library has also expanded the number of outlet strips as their checkouts have surged this year. There are now eight, some of which also allow direct USB and USB-C connections. These are available for 24-hour checkout.
Wireless Headphones
The library also provides a pair of wireless Bluetooth headphones (over-the-ear) for 6-hour checkout, as well as noise-canceling earmuffs and regular over-the-ear wired headphones.
Portable DVD Disc Drives
As many laptops and desktop computers no longer have disc drives, the library has two external disc drives, capable of playing DVDs, CDs, and running CD-ROMs, available for 6-hour checkout.
All items in the library may be checked out Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 10:00 PM and Sat-Sun 12:00 PM to 5:00 PM.
0 Comments.