UpToDate

What is the best way to access UpToDate while in the hospital on clinical rotations? 

The best way to access Up ToDate when you are in the hospital setting is to use the App version of UpToDate. Some hospital IT departments have firewalls which interfere with the university's authentication system for electronic resources. By using the app, you are bypassing the need to authenticate every time you want to access UpToDate. However, from time to time UpToDate will ask you to re-verify your access through the library homepage. 

How to get the UpToDate App

To use the UpToDate app, you will first need to access UpToDate through the library homepage and create a personal account. The steps are outlined below. You may also review the video at the top of this page if you'd like to see a demonstration of this process.

How to create a personal account:

1. Go to the Library homepage (https://www.rosalindfranklin.edu/library), and click on "UpToDate" under "Related Links" on the right-hand side. 
2. If prompted, login with your HelixNet username and password. 
3. Once you are on the UpToDate homepage, look to the upper right corner of the screen. If you see "Rosalind Franklin University User", click "Log Out." 
4. Next, click on "Register."
5. Fill out the form to register.
6. Download the app from iTunes, Google Play, etc. 
7. Enter the username and password you created during the registration process to login to the app. 

Please note: in order to keep using the app, it will be necessary to login through a browser every 90 days to re-verify your affiliation. UpToDate will send you an email alerting you when it is time to do so. Re-verification can be done on a cell phone, laptop, tablet, etc. - anything with an internet browser. You do not need to be on campus to do this. To re-verify, follow steps 1-3, and click "Log In" instead of "Register."  As with the registration process, this is UpToDate's requirement, not ours. 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us and we will be happy to assist you. If you have a suggestion for how we could make this guide better, please leave a comment below.

My UpToDate mobile access (app) has expired. How do I renew it?

UpToDate makes you renew your account every 30-90 days to retain mobile access. Since mobile access in the app does not require you to sign in with a RFUMS username/password, UpToDate needs you to verify you are still a current RFUMS student, faculty, or staff member and are therefore eligible to receive access through the University's subscription.

To renew your access do the following:

1. Go to the Library homepage (https://www.rosalindfranklin.edu/library), and click on UpToDate under Related Links. 
2. If prompted, login with your HelixNet username and password. 
3. Once you are on the UpToDate homepage, look to the upper right corner of the screen. If you see Rosalind Franklin University User, click on Log out. 
4. Click on Log In.
5. Login with your UpToDate username/password you used to register. 

It may take a few minutes to for the web version of UpToDate to sync with the mobile version. PLEASE NOTE: you do not have to physically be on campus to do this. The email UpToDate sends is a bit misleading, but it really just means that you have to renew through the library website.

How can I save popular topics or calculators for easy access?

One of the great features of UpToDate is the ability to save features like clinical topic summaries or calculators for faster access. Topics and resources can be bookmarked, and the bookmarks will appear in the MyUpToDate area on the UpToDate app home screen. 

How to Bookmark a Topic or Calculator in Android

1. Open up a topic 
2. Click on the star at the top of the screen.
3. When oin the UptoDate homescreen, click on MyUpToDate>Bookmarks to access your bookmarked material. 

How to Bookmark a topic on an iPhone

1. Open up a topic 
2. Click on the bookmark icon at the bottom of the screen
3. Click on the MyUpToDate>Bookmarks to access your bookmarked material. 

How do I find the full text for an article referenced in an UpToDate clinical topic?

the process for accessing full text is different depending on whether you are using the web-based version, or the app. 

Accessing full text in the web-based version:

1. Click on the reference number 
2. If full text is available, a link labeled "Check for Full-Text Availability" will be present. Click on it to access full text

*If full text is not available, click on Request form on the Interlibrary Loan and Print2PDF Guide to request a PDF copy for the article, or follow the steps below for checking access when using the app version. 

Accessing Full Text Within the App

1. Click on the reference number.
2. Copy the article title. 
3. Open a web browser and go to the library homepage: rosalindfranklin.edu/library
4. Paste the article title in the search box to see if the library has full text. 

*If a full-text link is not available, click on "Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan."