Boxer Library
As the weather gets warmer, all of the skills we were introduced to in the fall and developed in the winter are ready to come together and blossom in the springtime. Speaking of growth, it was a year ago that the library introduced this quarterly newsletter to the RFUMS community. This quarter's newsletter is about tools and resources to help your growth as the weather gets warmer, and the RFUMS community prepares for board exams, summer research, and graduations. Check out this newsletter to learn more about resources for anatomy study, how to get the app and maintain access for UpToDate, resources in the library for wellness, art opportunities in the library, and more. Good luck on springing into all of your projects this quarter.
Forget Me Nots
One of our favorite things this Spring Quarter has been seeing more students studying in the library. Want to know one of our least favorite things? Hearing that students are not able to study due to unattended items being used to reserve spaces. We want to remind everyone that the library is a shared space for all members of the RFUMS community. Please take your belongings with you when not using the space to leave it open for others. Personal items are also your responsibility. This also includes clearing any trash you accumulate while using the study spaces. Let’s celebrate the spring cleaning spirit all year round!
Engage with the Library
Supplement Your Studies
Date and Time: Tuesday, March 29th @11AM - 11:30AM CT | Audience: Students |
Session Type: In Person, @L.509 Computer Lab| Add Event to Google Calendar
Did you know that you can access flashcards, practice tests, case studies, infographics, and more using some of our library resources? In this workshop we will show you how to access some of these unique features to supplement your studies. Join us in person and feel free to bring a snack to this bite sized 30 minute session!
Faculty Focus: Advanced Search Strategies in CINAHL Complete
Date and Time: | Audience: Faculty | Tuesday, April 12th @11AM - 11:45AM CT
Session Type: Virtual Drop In | Register and Join Event | Add Event to Google Calendar
CINAHL Complete is a robust resource for finding literature on topics related to nursing, nutrition, public health, physical therapy and more. In this session we will walk you through advanced techniques such as using field tags, determining the best search terms for your research, and applying advanced filters as well as answer any questions you have about searching in CINAHL Complete.
Faculty Focus: How to translate your PubMed Search to other databases
Date and Time: | Audience: Faculty | Thursday, April 21 @11AM -11:45AM CT
Session Type: Virtual Drop In | Register and Join Event | Add Event to Google Calendar
What do you do when you want to try a PubMed Search in a different database? In most cases, it is not as simple as copying and pasting. In this session we will cover some tips and tricks for translating your PubMed Search to CINAHL Complete and Ovid MEDLINE.
IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
Finding and Using Images for your Presentation
Students often ask us, “Can I use this image I found on the internet in my research presentation?” Finding images and understanding how copyright works for educational and professional presentations can be a lot to navigate, but we’re here to help. In this session, we explored how you can access and download high quality images through our library’s and online resources in addition to answering participants' questions.
Advanced Searching Workshop: Ovid MEDLINE and PubMed
Learning how to do a basic search in PubMed and OVID Medline is easy, but learning all the different ways to get the best results in these databases can seem overwhelming at times. In this session we walked you through advanced techniques such as using field tags, determining the best search terms for your research, and applying advanced filters as well as answering any questions you had about searching in these databases.
Staying UpToDate with Frequently Asked Questions
Need help with UpToDate, writing citations or accessing one of our resources? Check out our FAQs by clicking Frequently Asked Questions on the library homepage in the Get Help section. You can find answers on locating case reports in PubMed and citing a lecture in AMA and, if your UpToDate app access has expired, you can use this QR code to take you to the login page. Login and then the app should work again.
All About Anatomy
Need to get back in touch with human anatomy? The Boxer Library offers physical materials for hands-on learning including anatomical models and bone boxes, as well the following virtual resources:
offers a 3-D examination of the human body, including the upper and lower extremities, trunk, head and neck, and internal organs.
AccessMedicine's Complete Human Anatomy Modules
have interactive, 3-D visualizations of male and female anatomy modules
For more Anatomy resources, review the Library's helpful guide: https://guides.rosalindfranklin.edu/anatomy
Wellness Resources at the Library
You may have noticed the Library's recent collaboration with Student Wellness Weeks (did you make a zine?), but our support doesn't stop there. The library has thousands of eBooks on available, so if you need a mindful moment, search terms such as "Mindfulness" or "Self-help techniques" in our eBook Collection
Highlighted eBooks
Rohnfeld, E. (2012). Chair Yoga : Seated Exercises for Health and Wellbeing. Singing Dragon.
And if you'd like to calm yourself with coloring, check out The New York Academy of Medicine Library program #ColorOurCollections, an annual coloring festival where institutions around the world share free coloring pages of their collections. Browse previous years, print pages, and add some color to your studies!
Thinking Outside the Box at the Boxer Library
If you’ve been to the library lately, you may have also noticed things have gotten a little more colorful lately. From the color-it-yourself mandala the Division of Student Success and Wellness provided, to our new color and craft station in the Learning Commons. The theme for the library coloring station is springtime coloring sheets and anatomy coloring sheets. Feel free to come by and pick up a sheet to color at your study area. If you take coloring supplies like colored pencils and/or markers, please bring them back to their original location once you are finished with them so others can use them. Stay tuned for more creative programs at the library coming your way!
Anonymous Student Art at the Library
eresources@rosalindfranklin.edu
0 Comments.