LibGuides: Pharmacy Resources: Additional Educational Resources

Additional Educational Resources

The Boxer Library and the College of Pharmacy provide a number of high-quality online resources that are available for use. In addition, there are a variety of free and reliable online resources for medical information that are appropriate for healthcare professionals. This non-comprehensive list put together by the College of Pharmacy Electronic Resources Committee is intended to assist students in understanding, distinguishing, and accessing these online resources.

ASCVD Risk Estimator
- Atherosclerosis Cardiovascular Disease (ASCVD) 10-year risk estimation tool commonly used in evaluating a patient's risk for cardiovascular disease and
potential eligibility for statin therapy
- Created by the American College of Cardiology Foundation (ACCF), the group who published the ASCVD pooled cohort model and the 2013 lipid guidelines
ASHP Drug Shortages
- News and clinical guidance regarding drug shortage information
- Provides reason for shortages, duration of shortage, and alternative therapies for patient care
ClinCalc
Evidence-based clinical decision support tools and calculators for medical professionals. Includes pharmacokinetic calculators (with supporting mathematical equations), drug conversion tools, and inferential biostatistics calculators.
ClinicalTrials.gov
- Registration database for many human clinical trials that are both actively recruiting or completed
- Not all trials are registered and not all results are available within the database
DailyMed
- Repository of monographs (package inserts) of all FDA-approved prescription and over-the-counter products in the United States
GlobalRPh
Comprehensive intravenous dilution and dosing calculators for busy clinicians. Includes a wide variety of clinical resources including drug dosing calculators, clinical calculations, IV drug dilutions, clinical decision guides, and drug information
Guideline Central
A currently evolving resources that offers free summary of certain guidelines with a hope to replace AHRQ’s Guidelines Clearinghouse.
Other resources include clinical calculator, drug information, USPSTF recommendations, MEDLINE/Pubmed search engine, and Clinical Trials.gov search engine
Idstewardship.com
- Collection of free and paid resources for learning antimicrobials and antimicrobial stewardship
- Student resources for learning antimicrobials and professional development
- Latest information about COVID vaccine and treatments
Institute of Safe Medication Practices (ISMP)
Resources regarding medication safety updates. Helpful lists such as do not crush list, confusing drug names, and error-prone abbreviations, symbols, and dose designations.
LactMed
Detailed and well-referenced information regarding drug disposition in lactation
Pharmacist’s Letter
- Monthly newsletter and online repository of past newsletters
- Content usually includes "clinical pearls", frequently asked questions, and brief
introductions to recently approved medications
- Includes 600+ charts and tables related to medication therapy
- "Rumor vs. Truth" section to confirm or refute medication-related topics
VA Pharmacy Benefits Manager (PBM)
- Includes a wealth of free drug information used by the Veterans Affairs (VA) system
- Provides drug monographs, drug class reviews, clinical recommendations, and criteria for use for a variety of medications to help inform clinical practice and formulary decisions at the VA

Vaccine-related Resources

Board Exam Preparation

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of pharmacy reference titles and textbooks. Includes case studies, care plans, self-assessment, and NAPLEX review.
BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
NAPLEX, APMLE Part 1, and APMLE Part 2 Board Exam prep materials.
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to textbooks from the American Pharmacists Association, an interactive NAPLEX review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.