LibGuides: Pharmacy Resources: Databases

Databases

The Boxer Library and the College of Pharmacy provide a number of high-quality online resources that are available for use. This non-comprehensive list put together by the College of Pharmacy Electronic Resources Committee is intended to assist students in understanding, distinguishing, and accessing these online resources.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Electronic access to many book titles that have relevance to the pharmacy curriculum. Most books are written for specialties (e.g., emergency medicine, cardiology, neurology, etc). Using the search function will help to identify relevant books and chapters.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Drug and natural product monographs are available by typing the exact name of the product as a search term. These databases are populated by Lexi-Comp and Natural Med Comp Database.
- Self-assessment resources (e.g., NAPLEX and federal law review guides and custom practice tests, Top 200 Drugs Challenge)
- Virtual cases
- Electronic access to 40+ pharmacy-related books
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- 250+ active learning patient cases and exercises
- 3000+ NAPLEX review questions
- Electronic access to 26 pharmacy-related books
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Independent, comprehensive evidence review of a wide variety of topics
- Articles are similar to a meta-analysis that follows a very strict, consistent format
- To date, includes 5000+ drug reviews and 2000+ treatment protocol overviews
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Gateway for a large number of databases, all of which are accessed when using the search function:
- DrugPoints – basic, summarized drug information
- DRUGDEX – advanced, extremely detailed and well-referenced drug monographs
- RED BOOK Online – drug cost information
- DISEASEDEX – Evidence-based treatment information
- POISINDEX – Toxicology information and treatment algorithms
- Lab Advisor - laboratory reference values
- Drug interactions, pill identification, IV compatibility
- Database includes international brand names (via DRUGDEX)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Gold standard database for original research and manuscripts (primary literature)
- Reference to identify appropriate journal citations and abbreviations
- MeSH term database can improve the scope and specificity of a search
- Use the RFUMS PubMed link to have more full-text journal access ("Find at RFUMS")
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Information from CAS registry for substances, chemical reactions, and synthesis/transformation reactions
- References from CAplus and MEDLINE
Stahl Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr. Steven M. Stahl, including Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Detailed drug information for adults, pediatrics, and patients (from the LexiComp database)
- Drug interaction reports
- Peer-reviewed, fully referenced articles on a wide variety of topics
- Clinical calculators