Boxer Library
The academic year has ended and summer is upon us which means it is time for summer research. This is the time some members of our university community will use this season to explore new ideas in their journey to continue Rosalind Franklin's legacy of discovery. The Boxer Library team has a variety of resources, spaces and services to support students and faculty in the development of their projects. This newsletter will highlight a few of these including: Highlights for RefWorks, Embase, PubMed, summer Circulation Desk hours, presentations on establishing your scholarly identity and citation managers as well as the announcement and description of the library's Evidence Synthesis (Systematic and Scoping Reviews) Search Service. As always if you have questions about any of these things after reading the newsletter, feel free to contact the library through online chat or email us at eresources@rosalindfranklin.edu for assistance or to set up an appointment. Happy researching!
During the summer our desk hours are Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Library study spaces are still open 24 hours with a valid ID
Are you working on a systematic review or evidence synthesis project? Our library can help! We have recently launched new systematic review services and have created guides that go over best practices for literature searching.
To learn more about our systematic review and evidence synthesis services and tips, check out our guides: Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews & Other Evidence Synthesis Projects and Searching Best Practices for Evidence Synthesis Reviews
PubMed is a database with access to over 35 million biomedical abstracts and citations. The database provides access to MEDLINE along with PubMed Central (PMC), a full text archive. The “Find it @ RFUMS” icon within each record will direct you to either its full text options provided by the library or to an interlibrary loan form, if full text is not readily available. For more information on PubMed, visit our PubMed resource tutorial.
Embase is a database that focuses on clinical medicine, pharmacology, and medical devices. Not only does it contain 32 million records, including 2,700 journals not found in MEDLINE, but it also indexes abstracts for over 1,000 conferences. Embase complements MEDLINE searching and is a great source for pharmaceutical topics and conference abstracts. For more information on Embase, visit our Embase resource tutorial.
Check out two eBooks from Stat!Ref to help you with your summer research! How to Read a Paper--6th Edition and How to Write, Publish and Present in the Health Sciences are now available for everyone looking to brush up their paper analysis and publication skills. Access Stat!Ref titles through the Electronic Resources list on the library's website.
RefWorks is a tool to collect, manage, and organize research papers and documents. Use this resource to keep track of your citations, and to cite your resources. You can also move citations from other citation managers over to it and create shared folders for yourself and others to all collect citations for projects. You can find information about using it on our RefWorks Guide and sign up for an account using your school email on the RefWorks Sign Up Page
Do you need to put some articles and book chapters on D2L for your students? Check out eReserves, you can make articles easily available to all your students in one place. Set it up for students to access all the items at once or for separate access each week.
Thursday, June 8th, 12 - 1 PM | Virtual | Register for and Join Event
If this is your first time doing a summer research project, or even if you just need a refresher, the library is here to help! In this workshop we will go over different types of databases you can use as well as introduce you to services and guides the library has to offer as you complete your literature searching projects. This session will also feature a Q&A where we will answer your specific research questions.
Thursday, June 22nd, 1 - 2 PM |Virtual | Register for and Join Event
Citation managers are helpful software that can make organizing your research and creating citations a breeze! In this workshop we will go over the basics of RefWorks, Zotero, and EndNote in order to determine which one works best for you.
Thursday, June 29, 4-5 PM | Virtual | Register for and Join Event
Everyone has heard of ChatGPT, but did you know there are many other AI tools that you can consider incorporating to your research/writing workflow? This workshop will cover AI tools, their uses, as well as current considerations and cautions.
Monday, July 10, 12-1 PM | Virtual | Register for and Join Event
Your online presence is an important part of your scholarly identity. This workshop will discuss how and why to set up an ORCID ID and Google Scholar Author Page. These tools can allow you to have a greater control over your scholarly output, increase impact, and track your work throughout your career.
0 Comments.